Mission

Urban Services YMCA’s Youth Development Department specializes in providing high quality after school programing at school sites throughout San Francisco. We serve traditional comprehensive school sites grades K-12 and continuation high schools located in the Bayview/Hunter’s Point, Excelsior/Oceanview/Ingleside, Inner Mission, Potrero Hill, Twin Peaks, and Western Addition communities. Urban Services YMCA has been delivering afterschool programs since 1996 and SFUSD ExCEL funded programs since 1999.
We deliver both school year and summer programs which are rooted in youth development principles and practices. We are dedicated to a holistic, wrap around approach to working with students to ensure their academic and emotional successes.

 

 

Potrero Hill Collaborative - Starr King Afterschool Program

Contacts:

Starr King Director :
Maybelle Miranda
Email: mmiranda@ymcasf.org

Starr King Site Coordinator:
Sol Granados
Email: sgranados@ymcasf.org

Creation Station Director:
Christian Liong
Email: cliong@ymcasf.org

Our comprehensive services are geared to be responsive and flexible enough to address each family’s unique needs.
We work collaboratively with families to create service plans that empower and support families to strengthen social, emotional and physical well-being.

• Academic, creative and recreational enrichments
• Academic Support
• Inclusive community building
• Conflict mediation
• Socio-emotional skill building

Locations & Contacts

Our current sites include:

  • Dr. Charles Drew College Preparatory Academy: The Drew Beacon Center :
    Site Coordinator: Roosevelt Pye
    Contact: rpye@ymca.org 
     
  • OMI/ Excelsior Beacon Center
    Director: Francesca Gonzalez
    Contact: fgonzalez@ymcasf.org
     
  • Starr King Elementary School: Rising Starrs After School Program
    Site Coordinator: Sol Granados 
    Contact: sgranados@ymcasf.org
     
  • Potrero Hill Creation Station After School Program
    Site Coordinator: Maybelle Miranda 
    Contact: mmiranda@ymcasf.org
     
  • Daniel Webster Before School Program
    Site Coordinator: Maybelle Miranda 
    Contact: mmiranda@ymcasf.org
     
  • Downtown High School After School Program
    Site Coordinator: Jorge Solorzano 
    Contact: jsolorzano@ymcasf.org
     
  • Ida B. Wells High School After School Program
    Site Coordinator: Ruben Uribe 
    Contact: ruribe@ymcasf.org
     
  • John O'Connell High School After School Program
    Site Coordinator: Patricia Barraza 
    Contact: pbarraza@ymcasf.org
     
  • The Academy-San Francisco @ McAteer After School Program
    Site Coordinator: Susy Dubon 
    Contact: sdubon@ymcasf.org

People 

Alfredo Guardado

Alfredo “Fredo” Guardado, born and raised in San Francisco, has spent his professional career dedicated to enriching the communities he grew up in. Fredo joins us from the Urban Services YMCA where he spent last five years delivering high quality services to four of San Francisco’s public High Schools. He’s thrilled to take on the role of Bessie Carmichael/FEC Beacon Director and contribute to the larger SOMA community.